NCIT National Center for Intermodal Transportation
 
UPRR Logo

Union Pacific: Fatigue Risk Management Symposium

May 11th - 13th, 2010,  Union Pacific Center


Speaker's Presentation Materials

Download All Presentations (Zipped)

Executive Summary

Results: Break-Out Groups

Speaker Topic
Janis Anderson Sleep Health and Safety for Railroaders
Drew Dawson The Use of Modeling in a Fatigue Risk Management System
Denny Holland Union Pacific's Fatigue Risk Management System
Denny Holland Fatigue, Sleep Disorders and Related Health Issues
Steven R. Hursh Prospects for Fatigue Modeling
Steven R. Hursh Evidence-Based Fatigue Risk Management
Scott Kaye Evidence-Based Fatigue Risk Management_Past-Present-Future
Jason Kumagai Fatigue Risk Management System at Canadian Pacific
Joseph Leutzinger How to Incorporate Health Risks into New or Existing Fatigue Models
Joseph Leutzinger Measuring Effectiveness Of Aletrness Management Education
Mike Moroz Canadian National Fatigue Management Initiatives Past & Present
Peter Page Planning-Scheduling-Risk Systems
Bobby Pechal Best Way - Crew Lineup
Steven Popkin Future Directions in Fatigue and Safety Research
Steven Popkin How Can Science Assist The Industry
Thomas G. Raslear Fatigue Accident Risk Management
Patrick Sherry Studies of Passenger Work Rest Schedules
Patrick Sherry Looking at Level Three - Critical Incidents, Fatigue and Mood
Terry Spratt What are 'WE' up too? - The Passenger Persective
James Stem UPRR_Fatigue Risk Management Symposium
Thomas Streicher Short Line Synopsis



Scientific Panel

Dawson

Drew Dawson, PhD.

Director: Centre for Sleep Research
University of South Australia

Drew.Dawson@unisa.edu

DHolland

Denny Holland, PhD.

Director: Union Pacific Occupational Health Psychology

DWHolland@up.com

PSherry

Steven R. Hursh, PhD.

Institute of Behavior Resources
Johns Hopkins Medical School

SHursh@ibrinc.org
JLeutzinger

Joseph Leutzinger, PhD.

President: Health Improvement Solutions

Joe@HealthImprovementSolutions.com

Popkin

Steve Popkin, PhD

Chief: Human Factors Division,
Volpe Research Center, DOT

Stephen.Popkin@dot.gov

PSherry

Patrick Sherry, PhD.

Intermodal Transportation Institute
University of Denver

PSherry@du.edu
   



Attendees

Name Title Organization Email
Janis Anderson, PhD Professor of Psychology Harvard Medical School
Division of Sleep Medicine
jlanderson@partners.org
Tara Arnett Asst. Director Labor Relations NS tara.arnett@nscorp.com
Wendy Banister Manager: Crew Support BNSF wendy.banister@bnsf.com
Janet Barnes-Farrell Professor & Director: Industrial Psychology Applications Center University of Connecticut janet.barnes-farrell@uconn.edu
Roger Boldra Director Labor Relations BNSF roger.boldra@bnsf.com
Michael Brazytis General Director Crew Management UP mbrazytis@up.com
Roby Brown General Manager Safety UP rbbrown@up.com
Stephen Bruno Director of Regulatory Affairs BLET bruno@ble-t.org
Janet Carbonelli Director of Operations Metra jcarbonelli@metrarr.com
Cassandra Cantu   Volpe Center  
Thomas Chawluk Sr. Sr. Director CMS Amtrak chawlut@amtrak.com
Mark Ciurej Grand Lodge Representative BRS mjc@brs.org
Michael Coplen Senior Evaluator, Manager Culture and Safety Performance Program FRA michael.coplen@dot.gov
Nick Cox Program Manager Health Promotion UP nccox@up.com
Drew Dawson Director: Centre for Sleep Research University of S. Australia drew.dawson@unisa.edu.au
Ben Ebmeier Legislative Rep/Local Chairman UTU utulocalchair@hotmail.com
Michael A. Fitzpatrick Railroad Specialist FRA michael.fitzpatrick@dot.gov
Lawrence Fleischer Director Ergonomics and Safety BNSF Lawrence.Fleischer@bnsf.com
Sharon Francois Manager Labor Management Systems Amtrak francos@amtrak.com
Dewey Garland Director of Railroad and Shipyard Workers SMWIA pshoap@smwia.org
Deb Gengler Director Clinical Services UP dagengle@up.com
Benjamin Gerson Medical Director University Services benjamin@uservices.com
Judy Gertler Division Manager QinetiQ N. America judy.gertler@qinetiq-na.com
Mike Greene Director: Crew Management NS michael.greene@nscorp.com
Erica Griffin Program Coordinator Amtrak erica.griffin@amtrak.com
Jon Hass Systems Developer BNSF jon.hass@bnsf.com
Scott Hinckley General Director UP wshinckl@up.com
Denny Holland Director: Occupational Health Psychology UP dwhollan@up.com
John P. Holland, MD, MPH Chief Medical Officer UP jhollandmd@aol.com
Sunny Hothan Legislative Rep UTU hothsun@charter.net
Heidi Howarth Engineering Psychologist Volpe Center heidi.howarth@dot.gov
Brian Hurla Project Lead: Technology Services BNSF brian.hurla@bnsf.com
Steven Hursh President Institutes of Behavior Resources shursh@ibrinc.org
Stephen Jenner Accident Investigator NTSB jenners@ntsb.gov
Mark Jones Director Employee Assistance Services UP mrjones@up.com
Richard Jorgenson Senior Analyst GAO jorgensonr@gao.gov
Scott Kaye Program Manager: Fatigue Policy & Development FRA albert.kaye@dot.gov
Jackie Keenan Manager: Occupational Health Psychology UP jmkeenan@up.com
Vijay Kohli President Fulcrum Corp vkohli@fulcrum-corp.com
Kevin Kresl Legislative Representative UTU UTU kreslk@cox.net
Jason Kumagai Human Factors Consultant CP jason@optimalfit.ca
Joe Leutzinger Principal Health Improvement Solutions joe@healthimprovementsolutions.com
Penny Lyons Senior Manager Drug & Alcohol Testing UP pllyons@up.com
Michael Manz Senior Assistant Manager (CMC) CP mike_manz@cpr.ca
Jeff Moller Assist VP: Transportation Systems and Practices AAR jmoller@aar.org
Jeremy Moore Director Labor Relations NS jdmoore@nscorp.com
Mike Moroz Sr. Manager: Crew Scheduling and Systems CN mike.moroz@cn.ca
Peter Page Managing Director InterDynamics peter.page@interdynamics.com
Bill Parsons Director of Regulatory Oversight Metro-North RR parsons@mnr.org
Len Pearson General Manager: Faid-Safe Business Group InterDynamics len.pearson@interdynamics.com
Bobby Pechal Director: North Operations BNSF bobby.pechal@bnsf.com
Steve Popkin, PhD. Director: Human Factors Research Volpe Center stephen.popkin@dot.gov
JB Rock Manager Amtrak Operations CSX JB_Rock@csx.com
Hadar Rosenhand Engineering Psychologist Volpe Center Hadar.Rosenhand@dot.gov
Brian Rowe Director: Safety Reporting and Compliance UP blrowe@up.com
Peter-Paul Seidenschnur Director EMAX ppts1@mac.com
Patrick Sherry, PhD. Professor University of Denver psherry@du.edu
Andrea Smith Asst. Manager, Labor Relations BNSF andrea.smith@bnsf.com
Terry Spratt Manager Rail Training APTA tspratt@septa.org
James Stem National Legislative Director UTU jamesastem@aol.com
Christopher Straub Program Manager Amtrak straubc@amtrak.com
Thomas Streicher Gen. Supt. Safety, Security and Op. Practices American Assoc. of Regional Railroad Assoc. tstreicher@aslrra.org
Anastasia Wagner Attorney Lamson, Dugan and Murray awagner@ldmlaw.com
Betsey Ward Analyst GAO wardb@gao.gov

 

Home | Contact